Sorry, no results.
Please try another keyword

2024 Nexstar Sports Awards: Nominees for College Male Athlete of the Year

WICHITA FALLS (KFDX/KJTL) — The fifth annual Nexstar Spots Awards and Hall of Fame banquet is set for Thursday, July 11, 2024, inside D.L. Ligon Coliseum on the campus of MSU Texas.

One of three male athletes attending a local college or university will be named the College Male Athlete of the Year, one of 18 honors being awarded in 2024.

The nominees for the 2024 College Male Athlete of the Year are listed below:

Travis Bragg — Vernon College Baseball

It’s common to see a baseball team’s best hitter third in a manager’s lineup, and that held true for Bragg in 2024.

Bragg led the Chaparrals in several offensive categories, including his 78 hits, with 28 going for extra bases, 61 runs batted in, and his .411 batting average.

Bragg was the only Chap to hit above .400. Tack on his 41 walks, and he reached base in 52 percent of his at-bats.

A two-time All-Conference selection, Bragg will play his junior season at Texas State University.

Ty Cunningham — Vernon College Baseball

The right-handed Cunningham was a rock in the rotation, leading the Chaps in quality starts and innings pitched with 68.

Cunningham was second on the team in earned run average, WHIP, and strikeouts with 61.

Cunningham’s best outing came in his final home game, where he threw a complete game 2-hitter with six strikeouts, resulting in a win over Ranger College.

Coach Devin McIntosh said Cunningham is dependable, reliable, and one of the hardest workers he’s ever coached. Cunningham will play his junior season at the University of New Mexico.

Mere Escobar — Midwestern State Soccer

Escobar earned honors galore in 2024, including LSC Player of the Year, Regional Player of the Year, and D2CCA National Player of the Year.

Escobar is the first player in MSU’s storied history to earn a National Player of the Year honor.

Escobar scored 17 goals while dishing out 13 assists for a Mustangs team that went 20-1-1, including the longest winning streak in program history: 18 games without a loss or a tie.

The fifth-year senior will return next season, needing 15 goals and 16 assists to become MSU’s all-time leader in those categories.

The winners will be announced live at the 2024 Nexstar Sports Awards and Hall of Fame Banquet at 7:00 p.m. on Thursday, July 11. Contact Kristin Bierne at (940) 691-0003 ext. 1225 for ticket information, or watch live on KFDX 3 and Texoma’s Homepage.

Read More

Scroll to Top